Starting a new life in a new place

Image source: Google

I’ve noticed that my traffics for my Kyuem post has been pretty high lately. I guess some of you have just received an offer to study here, congratulations! And to my lovely friends who are still struggling with A Levels, don’t give up guys! We only have a few papers left, do your very best! *Yang dah balik tu duk diam diam kat rumah ye, jumpa nanti masa graduation*

So, most of us are gonna start our new life in a few more months!! Some will start their journey in Ky, and some will be flying off to the UK/US/Australia soon. Excited? Yeah, I’m excited for all of you too! Nah, don’t be nervous, you are gonna be just fine. I still remember how I felt the first time I came to Ky. Crazy to think it has been 2 years since then, I feel like I just got here yesterday!

Hmm.. 2 years ago I came to Kyuem with an estranged friend. So many things happened within the past 2 years and things just fell apart. Well, that’s life and honestly, it’s quite sad. She was one of my closest friends and I have never seen it coming. But life has got to go on, and there’s nothing much I can do about it anyway.

Being a scaredy-cat I was, before coming to Ky, I tried to convince all of my close friends to go to Ky with me because I didn’t wanna be alone and I was so scared I won’t have any friends here. Besides, it was my first time being away from home and I knew no one in Semenanjung! (I mean, hello? I’ve been studying in KK throughout my whole life.) So, at the end of the day, I managed to convince one of them.

Then off we go. The first 2 semesters were okay. In fact, it was the best I’ve had in Ky. I made new friends, I acted in a classical Malay theatre, I played netball and yeah, things were really great. I was so happy I get to share all of the happy moments with my friend since we had the same circle of friends. But I guess when you get too close to someone, you’ll just end up ruining everything. Just like the picture above, if both of them gets too close, they’ll end up killing the butterfly.

So, I spent my whole last semester… alone, but hey, look! I survived. I’m graduating in a month! I have mixed feelings about leaving this college. Lots of bittersweet memories within this 2 years which have taught me a lot about life.

Anyhow, here’s a little advice to all of you… If you want to bring your friend(s) to go somewhere with you just because you’re afraid of being alone, but at the same time you really wanna start a “new life”, stop. Don’t even think about it. You’re gonna be just fine alone. It’s time to step out of your comfort zone and make new friends, honey. Be brave. Go ahead and start a new life in a new place where no one knows you. It’s a fresh start so you can be whoever you want, you can even change the way you act around others since you don’t have any “imageyet. Learn and discover new things. Be friends with different kind of people. You’ll learn a lot, I promise. I know I did, even though it was just for a semester. Oh, I definitely learned a lot.

I know this doesn’t always happen to everyone. Heck, maybe it just happened to me. Not all close friends become estranged after years of friendship, it’s not supposed to be that easy to lose a friend but… that’s not the point. My point is, it is okay to start a new life, alone. You just have to have the courage to actually do it.

“Have courage and be kind”

Adriana ❤

One thought on “Starting a new life in a new place

  1. Pingback: KYUEM – Epacse

Leave a Reply

